Bromoil Web Site Links

An International Tour of Working Bromoilists

bromoil print: a photographic image created by bleaching and tanning a black-and-white photograph, then soaking the bleached print (or matrix) in water before applying lithographic ink, usually by brush. The tanning and soaking processes cause the matrix to repel ink from the highlights while allowing ink to build-up proportionally in the midtones and shadows, creating a pigment-based version of the original image.


The list below provides links to the individual web sites of working bromoilists around the world or to individual pages on the web site of the International Society of Bromoilists. I am aware that some links no longer work and will update if sent the new url.

USA

Ken Barry - http://users.vnet.net/kbarry/Bromoil.html

Joe Besse - http://members.aol.com/joebesse/Bromoil/JB.html

Gregory Bleck - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/greg bleck/greg.html

Ed Buffaloe - http://www.unblinkingeye.com/Photographs/Bromoils/EBBrom001/ebbrom001.html

Jill Skupin Burkeholder - http://www.jillskupinburkholder.com

Sherry Ceallaigh - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/sherry ceallaigh/sherry ceallaigh.html

Barbara Dayton - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/barbara dayton/barbara dayton.html

Frank Dienst - http://www.frankdienst.com/bromoil/index.html

Kein Dingman - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/kevin dingman/kevin.html

Wayne Firth - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/wayne firth/wayne firth 1.html

Joy Goldkin - http://www.johnstevenson-gallery.com/goldkind.html

Thom Harrell - http://home.earthlink.net/~trans40/photography

Brownie Harris - http://www.spiritofthecarolinas.com/summer2000/article_artofbromoil.htm

Charlotte Kay - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/charlotte kay/charlotte kay.html

Chuck Kimball - http://www.artistsloft.com/bromoil/

Gene Laughter - http://members1.clubphoto.com/gene46746/

                          http://www.alternativephotography.com/artists/gene_laughter.html

                          http://www.bostick-sullivan.com/Gallery/Laughter/gene_laughter.htm

John Lowen - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/john lowen/john lowen 1.html

Eliza Massey - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/eliza/eliza.html

Tom Micklin - http://www.tmicklen.com

Nanessence - http://www.artistsloft.com/nansfolio/

Saelon Renkes - http://www.saelon.com/bromoils/bromoils.html

H. Seals - http://members.aol.com/hsealsbrom/hseals.htm

Larry Shapiro - http://www.larryshapirophoto.com

Jeremy Streeter - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/Jeremy Streeter/jeremy streeter.html

Ernie Theisen - http://www.etheisen.com

Linda Treash - http://www.lindatreash.com/bromoils.htm

CANADA

Frantisek Strouhal - http://www.miragephotograph.com

Andrea Zalme - http://www.compusmart.ab.ca/azalme/Pages/Home/Home.htm

ENGLAND

Dennis Atherton - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/dennis atherton/dennis atherton 1.html

Dennis Fielding - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/Dennis Fielding/Dennis Fielding.html

William Foster - http://www.fost.ndo.co.uk/bromoil.html

David Francis - http://www.bromoils.freeserve.co.uk/Brom1.htm

Maija McDougal - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/maija/maija.html

Dave Symonds - http://www.alternativephotography.com/artists/david_symonds.html

Kirk Toft - http://www.alternativephotography.com/artists/kirk_toft.html

Chris Upton - http://www.alternativephotography.com/artists/chris_upton.html

Derek Watkins - http://www.jamtoday.btinternet.co.uk/bromoilprocess.htm

AUSTRALIA

Cec Bown - http://www.nrg.com.au/~soggydog/

Tony Peri - http://web.mac.com/tonyperi/iWeb/Tony Peri PHOTOGRAPHY/Photo Home.html

NORWAY

Jurek Karwowski - http://www.alternativephotography.com/artists/jurek_karwowski.html

Per Volledal - http://home.powertech.no/pervo/bromgal.htm

FINLAND

Jukka Korhonen - http://www.jukkakorhonen.com/brindex.htm

Stanislav Belyaevsky - http://www.pbase.com/belyaevsky

GERMANY

Siegfried Utzig - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/Siegfried Utzig/siegfried.html

BELGIUM

Rene Smets - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/rene smets/rene smets.html

Dany Vermeersch - http://alt-photo.com/alt-photo/bromoil/dany vermeersch/dany vermeersch.html

Luc Van Quickenborne -http://users.pandora.be/innervision/English/Bromoil/Index.htm


HISTORICAL BROMOIL WORK ON THE WEB

The work of several historical photographers who worked in bromoil can be found on the internet. Links are listed below.

N.P. Andreev - http://photophilia.net/shergal/andreev/index.shtml

Russian bromoilist from the 1920s-1930s. Fine images. 

Harold Cazneaux - http://www.nla.gov.au/exhibitions/caz/cat.html

The menu at the bottom of the page selects suites of work containing some bromoils c.1910-1930. Very nice historical work. 

Norman Gryspeerdt - http://www.gryspeerdt.co.uk/

A variety of images are shown, along with information on the bromoil process.

Edward Hirst - http://www.asiplease.net/photos/bromoils/bromoils.htm

Another early English bromoilist.

Franz Rontag - http://de.geocities.com/heinrich_kreissl/index.htm

Unique images images from the master of 3-colour bromoil transfers.

 


Bromoil Supply Sources


The Bromoil List was originally compiled by Gene Laughter. Please send updates and broken link information to Thom Harrell at trans40@earthlink.net

This page is hosted by Thom Harrell  ][  Waterlilies image © Thom Harrell