click banner to go to home page

40 Volleyball Situations And More

National Federation of High Schools Rules

by Tom Fakehany

The following are recent rules interpretations made by the National Association of High Schools and posted here in a comprehensible form.  The National Federation is the only source of official interpretations for Federation Rules Volleyball.

SITUATION 1: A match is played in a facility with a large beam attached to the ceiling that runs the length of the gymnasium. Half of the beam is above a playable area and half of it is above a non-playable area. Therefore a ball contacting any part of the beam shall be ruled out of bounds.
RULING: Improper procedure.
COMMENT: The portion of the beam above a playable area will be considered playable. Any ball hitting this portion of the beam shall be considered playable by the same team. (2-24)

SITUATION 2: A player on Team A who is outside the boundaries of the court, but in a playable area, miss hits the ball and it travels farther out of bounds, but still over a playable area. A teammate hits the ball and it travels over the team bench on its path back over the net between the net antennas.
RULING: Legal.
COMMENT: It is legal for the ball to travel over a non-playable area back towards the court. (2-3-1g)

SITUATION 3: A player on Team R attempts to save a ball which is traveling toward a screen serving as a temporary wall. She passes the ball to her teammate and then contacts the screen with moderate force.
RULING: Out-of-bounds, point to Team S.
COMMENT: The player broke the plane of a non-playable area. (2-4-1b,c)

SITUATION 4: Prior to the match the referee checks the air pressure of the ball. The pressure is 5 pounds per square inch. The referee declares it a legal game ball.
RULING: Improper procedure.
COMMENT: The air pressure in the ball shall be 4.3 to 4.6 pounds per square inch. (3-2-1)

SITUATION 5: During warm ups, the referee notices several players have glitter in their hair and on their face. The referee informs the players they must remove the glitter in order to play.
RULING: Proper procedure.
COMMENT: Prior to the beginning of the match there would be no penalty. After the match begins, unnecessary delay will be charged for safety reasons. (4-1-4)

SITUATION 6: Only Player #6 on the receiving team is wearing compression shorts which extend below his uniform shorts. They are a solid color similar to the predominant color of his uniform shorts.
RULING: Legal.
COMMENT: If one player wears compression shorts, the entire team is not required to wear them. (4-2-1)

SITUATION 7: Players on Team S are wearing three-button polo shirts as their uniform tops.
RULING: Legal. (4-2-1)

SITUATION 8: The number on the front of Team A's uniform top is not clearly visible because the sleeves of the players' uniforms are rolled up.
RULING:  Illegal.
COMMENT: The players will be directed to return the sleeves of their uniform tops to a position which does not interfere with the visibility of the number. (4-2-3a)

SITUATION 9: There are seven players on the roster for Team S. At the start of the match, the referee notices four of the seven players are wearing exposed sports bras which are not of a similar color to the predominant color of the uniform top. The referee begins the match with a sideout and allows the players to participate.
RUUNG:  Correct procedure.
COMMENT: When a team cannot start six players in legal uniforms, a point/sidout is awarded to start the match. Following the match, the state association should be notified of the situation. (4-2-PEN #4)

SITUATION 10: A team arrives at a match with only eight players, only six of whom are in legal uniforms. The coach submits a starting lineup consisting of the six players in legal uniforms. (a) During warmups, one of the six players is injured and cannot start the match; (b) After the match begins, one of the starting players is injured and cannot continue the match.
RULING: In (a), the match is stared with a point or sideout and the official notifies the state association following the match; (b) the team must compete with only five players unless the injured player is able to continue later in the match.

SITUATION 11: A player attempts to enter a match wearing wooden beads laced in their hair.
RULING: Illegal player equipment, unnecessary delay.
COMMENT: The player may not enter the game until the beads are removed from the hair. (4-1-5,6, 4-1-PEN. #1)

 SITUATION 12: The coach from Team A asks the umpire how many time-outs his team has used. The umpire reports that Team A has used one timeout. Immediately following the umpire's response, the coach from Team A calls a timeout. As the teams are leaving the court for their team benches, the scorer informs the umpire that Team A has previously used its two timeouts. The umpire double checks the information, and the scorer is correct.
RULING: No penalty is assessed, the teams are directed to return to the court immediately
COMMENT: The illegal act was a direct result of a confirmed official's error; therefore, no penalty is assessed. (5-3-3a)

 SITUATION 13: The umpire makes several ball handling calls which are not clearly out of the referee's view.
RULING: Incorrect procedure.
COMMENT: Umpire should only assist in making those ball handing calls which are clearly out of the referee's view. (5-4-3a)

 SITUATION 14: At the end of a timeout, the visiting team coach contends the score on the scoreboard is incorrect. The umpire checks the official score sheet, verifies the error and directs the scorer to correct the scoreboard.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: It is proper preventive officiating to check the accuracy of the score during each timeout. {5-4-3b(15)}

 SITUATION 15: The server moves near the left side of the serving area to serve the ball.  Until the contact of the ball, the line judge should be back away from the court in line with the sideline.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: It is easier for the referee to see a foot fault at the end line than either sideline on a quick serve down a sideline. (5-7-2a Note)

SITUATION 16: Team A lines up on the court for the pre-match lineup check. The umpire checks the lineup after having checked Team B's lineup. The game begins with Team A winning-two points before a sideout. The RB for Team B serves one point and then a side-out. Team A serves the ball into the net, sideoout. As the next player on Team B gets ready to serve, it is discovered that she is the improper server because Team B did not rotate for the first serve.
RULING: No penalty is assessed. Team B is placed in proper alignment and begins its service.
COMMENT: When an improper server is not discovered until after the serve has alternated and the other team has served, there is no penalty assessed and no cancellation of points.  Proper serving order, as written in the scorebook, shall be regained immediately. (6-3, Pen 2 b, c)

SITUATION 17: Team S begins the game with the serve which results in a sideout. Team R serves one point, then the second serve results in a side-out. Prior to Team S contacting the ball for service, the scorer discovers that Team S has an inaccurate lineup that was not detected prior to the game.
RULING: Sideout to Team R, Team S is placed in the correct serving order.
COMMENT: This is a case in which the umpire did not detect the inaccurate lineup at the start of the game; however, the appropriate penalty is still Rule 7-1 Pen. 3. The server for Team S at the time of the discovery was the proper server for that team. (7-1-2)

SITUATION 18: Team A begins game three with the service. The first serve results in a sideout. Team B serves one point, then sideout is called. Prior to Team A contacting the ball for serve, it is discovered that Team B had a player in the game who was not on the written lineup.
RULING: Point for Team A and they continue with their serve. (7-1-2)

SITUATION 19: Player #5 on the serving team has just saved a ball from crossing underneath the net. She has stopped her momentum, but in the process, her hand has landed on the center line.
RULING: Legal.
COMMENT: A player's hands or feet may touch the floor across the center line provided some portion of the hand/feet remains on or above the center line. (9-5-6)

SITUATION 20: A player crosses the center line extension between the sideline and the standard: (a) while playing a ball which has not crossed the plane of the net extended; (b) after legally playing the ball.
RULING: Both are legal.
COMMENT: Any player may cross the center line extension before, during or after playing the ball provided the ball has not crossed the plane of the net extended. If the player touches the net outside the antenna or the net cable, it would be a net foul. (9-5-6, 9-6-6a)

SITUATION 21: A player attempts to enter the game wearing compression shorts on which there is a manufacturer’s logo that measures ½ inch high and 4½ inches long. The umpire denies the substitution and assesses an unnecessary delay penalty in spite of the plea from the coach that the logo is no more than 2¼ square inches.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: The new ruling regarding manufacturers’ logos stipulates that logos shall not have any dimension that is more than 2¼ inches.(4-2-8)

SITUATION 22: While the ball passes over a corner of the bleachers on its
flight back to the court from a playable area, a spectator (a) reaches up and deflects the ball (b) is hit in the back of the head with the ball.
RULING: In both (a) and (b) the ball is out of bounds and a point or side-out is awarded the opponent. (2-3-1[g])

SITUATION 23: During the prematch conference, the referee notices that one of the captains of Team A has a ring in her eyebrow. The referee notifies the coach and instructs the removal of the jewelry before the player will be permitted to enter the contest.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: Body piercing jewelry, whether visible or not, is still considered jewelry, and players must remove it before being permitted to participate in the match. (4-1-6)

SITUATION 24: Team A has eight players on its roster, only six of whom are in legal uniforms. The match begins with the six players in legal uniforms. During game one, a player from Team A is injured and unable to continue.
The referee allows a substitute in an illegal uniform to enter the match and awards a point to Team B that was serving at the time of the substitution.
RULING: Incorrect procedure.
COMMENT: Rule 4-2-Pen. 4 permits a point or side-out to be awarded the
opponent when a team cannot begin a match with six players wearing legal uniforms. Team A clearly was able to begin the match with six legal players. When one becomes injured during the first game, the team must play short since no legal substitutes are available. Note: In the event that a player with an illegal uniform could switch uniforms with the injured player, that player could enter the match after the appropriate penalty for correcting the roster (point or side-out) has been assessed.

SITUATION 25: Team R is wearing tie-dyed t-shirts as its uniform jersey.  The tie-dye is brown, orange and white.
The numbers are brown.
RULING: Illegal.
COMMENT: The numbers must be clearly visible and of a contrasting color to the surrounding colors of the jersey.
[4-2-3(a, c)]

SITUATION 26: During play, the umpire is positioned on the blocking side of the net. The LF of the attacking team spikes the ball and brushes the net in a follow-through of the hit. The umpire immediately blows the whistle and calls a net violation on the attacking team. The coach argues that it is not the umpire’s call because he/she is
supposed to watch the blocking side of the net.
RULING: The umpire’s decision is correct.
COMMENT: The umpire is to be positioned back from the standards and wide
enough to provide a sight-line of the entire net which includes looking through the net to officiate the attacking side. (5-4-2)

SITUATION 27: During game two of a match, the referee becomes ill and
feels as if she cannot continue as the referee; however, she believes she is well enough to function as the umpire for the remainder of the match. She takes an official’s time-out and switches positions with the umpire.
They complete the match in these positions.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: As the head official, the referee has the authority to maintain an effective officiating crew. Although Rule 5-1-4 does stipulate no exchange of duties between the referee and umpire during a match, the referee does have the authority to replace himself/herself in the event of an emergency. In this case, the referee felt that
she could continue officiating in the umpire’s position. [5-3-3(a)]

SITUATION 28: As the referee is preparing to signal for service, he notices that the coach for Team R has signaled for a substitution. The umpire does not notice the signal. The referee makes the substitution signal to the umpire who then blows the whistle, signals substitution and handles the substitution process.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: The umpire shall blow the whistle for time-outs and substitutions. If, in the above situation, the umpire does not see the referee’s signal, then the referee should blow the whistle and signal (official signal 19) the substitution to the umpire. The umpire then would carry out the substitution procedure. [5-4-3b (1)]

SITUATION 29: The referee informs the coaches during the pre-match conference that rosters will be due when the scoreboard clock reads 10:00, and lineups will be due when the clock reads 2:00. One coach protests that she should not have to submit her lineup until two minutes prior to the beginning of the match.
RULING: The referee is correct.
COMMENT: The rule now references the end of timed warm-ups rather than
the beginning of the game in order to be more accurate in presenting these deadlines to coaches. (7-1-1 & 7-1-2)

SITUATION 30: Between games, Team A: (a) stays on the court to practice; (b) goes into the locker room.
RULING: Legal.
COMMENT: In (a) players may handle the ball on their own side of the court or may serve and/or hit balls from the opposite court into their own court. (11-5-1)

SITUATION 31: The RB for Team S digs a spike, and the ball shoots toward
the left net standard. LF for Team S runs beyond the standard and across the center-line extension, jumps and hits the ball back to a teammate before the ball completely crosses the vertical plane of the net.
RULING: Legal; play continues.
COMMENT: It is legal for a player to be across the center-line extension outside the opponent’s court. The ball does not become dead until it completely crosses the vertical plane of the net extended. (9-5-7)

SITUATION 32: On a serve the CF of Team R jumps with arms extended and:
(a) blocks the serve just as the ball reaches the net; (b) the ball touches the outstretched hands of the LF on its flight to the back of Team R’s court; (c) the ball passes over the LF, but there is no contact with the ball.
RULING: (a) and (b) Illegal block of serve; point for Team S; (c) legal, play continues.
COMMENT: It is not illegal to fake a block of serve provided there is no contact with the ball. (9-6-5)

SITUATION 33: The server for Team S hits a high serve which is coming
down just over the net. CF on Team R gets a good approach and attacks the served ball while it is still several inches above the height of the net. The ball hits the floor on the Team S court.
RULING: Illegal attack of serve; point for Team S.
COMMENT: A served ball which is completely above the height of the net
may not be attacked into the serving team’s court. (9-6-6)

SITUATION 34: The LF on Team R dumps a served ball back across the net.
The served ball was: (a) completely above the height of the net at the moment of contact; (b) completely above the height of the net and on Team R’s side of the net at the moment of contact; (c) not completely above the height of the net at the moment of contact.
RULING: (a) and (b) illegal attack of serve (Signal No. 3); (c) legal,
play continues.
COMMENT: It is only illegal to attack the serve (spike, tip, dump or
overhead pass) when the ball is completely above the height of the net and the attack crosses the net. (9-6-6)

SITUATION 35: After a point by Team S, the umpire (a) hears a request
for time-out from Team R’s bench and grants it; (b) glances toward both benches and sees that Team R’s coach is signaling for a time-out.
RULING: (a) Incorrect procedure; (b) Correct procedure.
COMMENT: The umpire should grant requests for both substitutions and
time-outs based on a visual signal.
(10-2-1)

SITUATION 36: Team S has served four consecutive points. The LB on Team
R, who is not the designated captain, becomes frustrated and requests a time-out. The official denies the request and play continues.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: During a match, the designated floor captain is the only player
who may request a time-out. (11-2-1)

SITUATION 37: Following every net violation by Team A, the coach asks
which player was in the net and whether it was the uniform, body, hand, arm, etc. that touched the net. This continues throughout the game.
RULING: Unsportsmanlike conduct, yellow card. [12-2-7(l)]

SITUATION 38: As No. 15 on Team S rotates back to serve, the captain of
Team S asks for a line-up check. The umpire confirms that No. 15 is the proper server. No. 15 serves two points. Prior to the third serve, the scorekeeper stops play and indicates that No. 15 is the improper server, and the correct server should be No. 10.
RULING: This situation is an official’s error. The referee shall cancel
the two points served by No. 15; however, no
side-out is awarded to Team R. Proper service order shall be regained
immediately, and No. 10 will begin service.
COMMENT: In the spirit of good sportsmanship, the referee shall promptly
handle this situation. Due to the fact
that the players received inaccurate information from a member of the
officiating crew and immediately acted
upon that information, there shall be no further penalty beyond that
which is specified in 6-3-Pen 2a. [5-3-3(a)]

SITUATION 39: Player No. 6 for Team S tosses the ball for service,
realizes she is the improper server, and lets the ball drop to the floor untouched. The referee signals a re-serve while the proper server (No. 4) moves into position. Player No. 4 then tosses the ball for service, and it drops to the floor untouched. The referee awards
Team R a side-out.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: A team may have only one re-serve during a team’s term of
service. The improper server (No. 6) used the re-serve for that term of service; therefore, player No. 4 was not entitled to one when she assumed the service position. (8-1-3, 8-2-Pen 3)

SITUATION 40: After the referee has made an illegal hit call against a player on Team S, the umpire hears another player on Team S make a disparaging comment about the call.
Shortly thereafter, the umpire also hears the coach of Team S make a loud derogatory comment about the call. The umpire displays a red card and signals the number of the player to the referee and then displays a red card again signaling that the coach is to
receive the same penalty. The referee administers both red cards, awards a side-out to Team R and then awards a point to that team.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: Procedures for unsportsmanlike conduct require that all
violations be penalized appropriately even if
they are simultaneous and involve more than one individual. (Procedure
for Unsportsmanlike Conduct Violations)

SITUATION 41: A player on Team R, in an attempt to play the ball, steps into an adjacent court where teams are preparing to enter the court for their pre-match warm up. The referee blows the ball dead, signals out-of-bounds and awards a point.
RULING: Correct Procedure.
COMMENT: Adjacent courts scheduled for play are restricted areas for players, and the ball shall be declared out-of-bounds if it touches or enters this area. (2-3-1g & 2-4-1b)

          SITUATION 42: During the pre-match warm-up, the referee notices a player is wearing a
           necklace around her neck. The referee notifies the coach who informs the referee that
           the player is wearing it for religious reasons. The referee informs the coach that the
           player must remove the necklace and tape the medal to her body under her uniform
           before she may enter the game.
           RULING: Correct procedure.
           COMMENT: Players shall not wear jewelry with the exception of religious or medical
           medals. If such medals are worn, they shall be taped to the body under the uniform. If
           the chain is considered to be part of a religious necklace it must also be undraped and
           taped to the body. (4-1-6)

          SITUATION 43 : During the pre-match conference, the referee notices that one of the
           captains of Team A has a ring in her tongue. The referee notifies the coach and instructs
           the removal of the jewelry before the player will be permitted to enter the contest.
           RULING: Correct procedure.
           COMMENT: Body piercing jewelry, whether visible or not, is still considered jewelry, and
           players must remove it before they may participate in the match. (4-1-6)

 SITUATION 44: A player attempts to enter the game wearing compression shorts on
 which there is a manufacturer’s logo that measures ½ inch high and 4½ inches long.
 The umpire denies the substitution and assesses an unnecessary delay penalty.
 RULING: Correct procedure.
 COMMENT: The rule regarding manufacturer’s logos stipulates that logos shall not have
 any dimension that is more the 2¼ inches. (4-2-8)

SITUATION 45: As Player #15 on Team S rotates back to serve, the coach of Team S
asks for a line-up check. The umpire confirms with the scorekeeper that Player #15 is
the proper server. Player #15 serves two points. Prior to the third serve, the scorekeeper
stops play and indicates that Player #15 is not the proper server. The correct server is
Player #10.
RULING: Since the coach immediately acted on the misinformation provided by the
scorer, the referee shall cancel the two points served by Player #15, place Team S in
proper serving order and permit Player #10 to serve.
COMMENT: In the spirit of good sportsmanship, the referee shall promptly handle this
situation. Due to the fact that the players received inaccurate information from a member
of the officiating crew and immediately acted upon that information, there shall be no
further penalty beyond that which is specified in 6-3-Pen 2a. [5-3-3a(4)]

SITUATION 46: During play, the umpire is positioned on the blocking side of the net. The
LF of the attacking team spikes the ball and brushes the net in a follow-through of the
hit. The umpire immediately blows the whistle and calls a net violation on the attacking
team. The coach argues that it is not the umpire’s call because he/she is supposed to
watch the blocking side of the net.
RULING: The umpire’s decision stands.
COMMENT: The umpire is to be positioned back from the standards and wide enough to
provide a sightline of the entire net which includes looking through the net to officiate the
attacking side. (5-4-2b)

SITUATION 47: As the referee is preparing to signal for service, he notices that the coach
for Team R has signaled for a substitution. The umpire does not notice the signal. The
referee makes the substitution signal to the umpire who then blows the whistle, signals
substitutions and handles the substitution process.
RULING: Correct procedure.
COMMENT: The umpire shall blow the whistle for time-outs and substitutions. If, in the
above situation, the umpire does not see the referee’s signal, then the referee should
blow the whistle. The umpire then would carry out the substitution procedure. [5-4-3b (1)]

SITUATION 48: The referee informs the coaches during the pre-match conference that
rosters will be due ten minutes and lineups two minutes prior to the end of timed warm
ups. One coach protests that she should not have to submit her lineup until two minutes
prior to the beginning of the match.
RULING: The referee is correct.
COMMENT: The rule now references the end of timed warm-up rather than the beginning
of the game as deadlines for rosters and lineups in order to be more accurate in
presenting these deadlines to coaches. (7-1-1 & 7-1-2)

SITUATION 49: To initiate play, the RB serves the ball out of her hand rather than tossing
the ball for serve.
RULING: Legal.
COMMENT: The server is permitted to hit the ball with one hand, fist or arm while the
ball is held, or after it is released by the server. (8-1-1)

SITUATION 50: The server’s foot: (a) touches the 6-inch extension line of the sideline;
(b) touches the floor outside the 6-inch extension line of the sideline at the instant the
ball is contacted for serve.
RULING: (a) Legal; (b) Illegal.
COMMENT: The server shall serve from within the serving area (2-1-6) and shall not
touch the end line or the floor outside the lines marking the width of the serving area at
the instant the ball is contacted for the serve. (8-1-2)

SITUATION 51: Player #5 on Team S has served 3 points. During service for point 2,
Player #5 is granted a re-serve. After a time-out called by Team R, Team S substitutes
Player #11 for Player #5. On Player #11’s first serve, he catches a bad toss for serve.
The referee calls a re-serve.
RULING:  Correct procedure.
COMMENT: A player’s term of service begins when the player assumes the RB position
as the server, and ends when a side-out is awarded or a substitution for the player is
made prior to the end of the team’s term of service. Each player may have only one
re-serve during a team’s term of service. (8-1-4)

          SITUATION 52: During the game, the visiting coach fails to get the attention of the
          umpire for a substitution. The referee notices the coach signaling and looks at the
          umpire and (a) gets the attention of the umpire by signaling for the substitution; (b) fails
          to get the attention of the referee so blows the whistle while signaling for the substitute;
          (c) fails to get the attention of the referee so blows the whistle, signals for the
          substitution, and expects the umpire to mirror the signal and assume the procedure for
          substitution from that point on without blowing a second whistle for substitution.
          RULING: Correct Procedure(s).
          COMMENT: When a coach does not get the attention of the umpire, the referee may
          assist by doing the above in the order given. (8-1-5)

          SITUATION 53 : Following Team R’s third contact, the ball touches the ceiling directly
          above them. The referee blows the ball dead upon Team R’s fourth contact.
          RULING: Incorrect procedure.
          COMMENT: Following Team R’s third contact, the ball would be blown dead upon
          contact with any part of the ceiling. (9-3-3d)

          SITUATION 54 : Team S serves the ball. As the ball is traveling out of bounds, Player
          #15 on Team R ducks to avoid contact. As she turns, the ball brushes her hair. The
          referee awards a side-out to Team R.
          RULING: Correct procedure.
          COMMENT: Contact is any touch of the ball by a player excluding the hair. (9-4-1)

          SITUATION 55 : The CF from Team S and the CF from Team R block a ball and hold it
           simultaneously above the net. The ball drops to the floor on Team R’s side. (a) The
           referee signals a replay. (b) The referee awards a point.
           RULING: (a) Incorrect; (b) Correct.
           COMMENT: A “joust” occurs when two opponents cause the ball to come to rest above
            the net through simultaneous contact. A “joust” is not a foul, and play continues as if the
            contact was instantaneous. (9-4-6d)

            SITUATION 56: The CF on Team R attempts to block the serve while she is at the net.
            The served ball is completely above the top of the net. However, in her attempt to block
            the ball, no contact with the ball is made.
            RULING: Legal, play continues.
            COMMENT: The rule does not permit the serve to be blocked; however, in this case, no
            block occurred. The fact that the front row player attempted the block is not prohibited
            by rule. Only a back row player is prohibited from attempting a block. (9-6-5)

            SITUATION 57: A player from Team S dives out of the court to save a ball on Teams S’s
             second hit. The player remains on the floor holding her ankle. The referee calls the play
             dead and awards a replay. The referee allows the coach to tend to her player.
             RULING: Correct procedure.
             COMMENT: The official has determined that a player is injured. For the safety of all
             players, the play is dead and a replay shall be awarded. [9-8-1g(2)] [9-9-1g] [12-2-5g]

             SITUATION 58: During a time-out, Team R players drink from water bottles as they
             confer: (a) on the court; (b) off the court; (c) off the court and water is spilled in playable
             area.
             RULING: (a) Legal, (b) Legal; (c) Water must be wiped up, and unnecessary delay is
             charged if game is delayed.
             COMMENT: Water may be taken on the court without penalty as long as no the game is
             not delayed due to clean up. (Rule 9-9-1h)

             SITUATION 59: Team A’s coach makes a request for substitution. Player #15
             immediately reports to the umpire. Player #10 stays at the bench to pull up knee pads,
             and then reports to the umpire.
             RULING: Player #15 allowed to enter game, #10 request denied.
             COMMENT: Substitutes from the same team must report at the same time. (10-2-3 &
             10-2-5a)

              SITUATION 60: Team A’s players stand as a unit to greet a substitute coming out of the
              game. After greeting her, they remain standing to lead a cheer for their team during the
              next live ball play and are allowed to do so as long as they are in their bench area.
              RULING: Incorrect procedure
              COMMENT: Non-playing members of a team shall remain seated on the team bench
              during the game except to stand at the bench to greet a replaced player, then
              immediately sit back down. (12-2-6c)