All About Jazz, November 2007

Look Stop & Listen
Tardo Hammer | Sharp Nine Records (2007)
By David A. Orthmann

Look Stop & Listen, Tardo Hammer’s fourth release as a leader, is subtitled The Music of Tadd Dameron. It’s the antithesis of a concept record, in which the music takes a backseat to marketing and promotion. Instead of a parade of guest stars, all Hammer needs is bassist John Webber and drummer Joe Farnsworth to launch a rigorous, thoughtful, and brilliantly played set.....

click to read more

Jazz Times, November 2007

Look Stop & Listen: The Music of Tadd Dameron (Sharp Nine)

More than other great jazz composers like Ellington and Monk, Tadd Dameron was an artist of his era. His time was WWII and right after, as swing became bop. Dameron’s music is prewar melodic romanticism turned ambiguous by complex postwar harmonies and nervous bop rhythms.

Perhaps that is why Tardo Hammer is the finest living Dameron interpreter....

click to read more

Ken Dryden, All Music Guide

While the music of Tadd Dameron is familiar to dedicated jazz fans, pianist Tardo Hammer is one of just a few musicians who have dedicated themselves to exploring Dameron's music in depth....

click to read more