Home ~ The Seifert Era: 1989 ~ 1990 ~ 1991 ~ 1992 ~ 1993 ~ 1994 ~ 1995 ~ 1996



Record: 11-7, NFC West Champions
George Seifert's five-year record: 68-21

The 49ers' offense continued to thrive with the defensive-minded George Seifert at the helm. The Niners led the NFL in total scoring and overall offense. Steve Young won his third straight passing title, throwing for more than 4,000 yards. Ricky Watters had 950 yards rushing.

After two seasons on the bench with injuries, Joe Montana was sent to the Kansas City Chiefs in a trade that included a first-round draft pick. With that pick, the 49ers took Dana Stubblefield, who became 1993's NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. (See the end of the 1992 summary for an account of Montana's departure.)

In an NFC Championship Game rematch on the Cowboys' turf, the 49ers failed to stop the Dallas rushing attack. Dallas scored touchdowns on four of its first five possessions and led 28-7 at halftime. Dallas won 38-21.

During the 49ers' championships during the 1980s, Seifert's mighty defensive players and schemes had dominated opponents.

The 49ers knew what had to be done: The team set about to shore up the defense for the 1994 season.

The Seifert Era continues: 1994


 1993 Results

W at Pittsburgh 24-13 
L at Cleveland 23-13
W Atlanta 37-30 
L at New Orleans 16-13 
W Minnesota 38-19 
L at Dallas 26-17 
W Phoenix 28-14 
W L.A. Rams 40-17 
W at Tampa Bay 45-21 
W New Orleans 42-7 
W at L.A. Rams 35-10 
W Cincinnati 21-8 
L at Atlanta 27-24 
W at Detroit 55-17 
L Houston 10-7 
L Philadelphia 37-34


W  N.Y. Giants 44-3 
L  at Dallas 38-21