Don Ellis Critical Editions


Don Ellis Critical Editions Home Page
About the Don Ellis Critical Editions
Frequently Asked Questions

New in Spring 2005:




Written in the summer of 1978 for an outdoor music festival, Make A Joyful Noise! Is the last major work by Don Ellis. Written for a medium sized symphony orchestra, it is in three movements in an upbeat mood. Although it does not use any jazz specialists it still retains a certain "popular" feel. The first two movements have substantial portions of Latin feels: the first uses samba figures and the second, has some boss nova lines. The third movement might be accurately titled "Toccata and Hymn" and is a real tour-de-force for the strings. At this time, only the full score is available, no parts. It can be purchased only directly from Nick Di Scala. E-mail him at



© 1998-2006 Russell Scarbrough