Home Page
Suggested Liturgy for the
Sacrament of Communion

Dear Heavenly Father,
thank you for the gift of the sacrament of communion
which You planned from the beginning.

It is the spirit of following the sacrificial system defined in Your Law given through Moses,
that beautiful system which reminds us, guides us and teaches us:
who You are,
about Your plan for our redemption,
points to Your Messiah, Our Lord and Only Mediator,
and shows us the Way to stay in communion
with You and each other.

You show us how to offer sacrifices of
praise, worship and contrite hearts.

When Our Lord and Savior said:
He is the Lamb.
His body is bread.
His blood is drink.
Jesus is saying his life was given as a Whole Burnt Offering to the Father.

Jesus was the lamb of the sin offering,
his body was broken as the grain offering
and his blood was poured out as a drink offering.
For the Sin, Grain and Drink Offerings are required of the Burnt Offering,
a sign of fully devoting his life to the will of the Father.

When Our Lord and Savior invites us:
to eat the bread
and when the veil was torn,
they resound as trumpet calls to the congregation to be priests,
to purify ourselves so that we may enter the Holy of Holies
and not die from being in the presence of the Lord.

When Our Lord and Savior invites us:
to drink the wine,
it is an endorsement of bringing the equivalent of our temple offerings
to the priest in our local congregations
for the purpose of helping those in need
to celebrate, rejoice and feast together with follow believers
in the spirit of observing the feasts and offerings of our God.

The Law defines five major types of Offerings,
three voluntary forms of praise and worship
and two mandatory forms for sin:

The Continual Burnt Offering, a sign of the continual presence of God and of devotion to Him.
The Grain Offering, recognition of God as our source.
The Fellowship Offering, a communal meal of brotherly love.
The Sin Offering, general atonement for sin.
The Guilt Offering, atonement for intentional sin against another
or for unintentional sin against sacred things.

If during our daily prayer and devotion,
the Holy Spirit convicts us of sin,
then we must immediately sacrifice our ego, confess and repent of that sin.

When it comes to payment for that sin, we are confident that the price of that sin,
life for life as represented by the blood,
is already paid in full by Our Lord and so we remember and give thanks
that Jesus provides the blood for purification sprinkled on
the horns of the ark of our hearts at the time of confession of each sin.

The 4 horns of the ark remind us of the Lord's call to be masters over & seek balance in
our own physical, emotional, mental and spiritual aspects.
This is the Way that will break our cycles of sin,
prevent us from becoming soulless beasts
and guide us up the mountain of maturity to open the gates to the inner sanctuary
and find the love, compassion and mercy needed to become sons & daughters of the Father.

We then reaffirm our commitment to the covenant that we have broken,
the covenant with the Lord,
and we ask again for the Holy Spirit to strengthen us,
for the Holy Spirit to come into and truly transform our hearts,
for God the Father to change our hearts of stone into hearts of flesh
through the power of the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Love,
for this is the promise of the covenant renewed in Christ.

As we humble ourselves before the Lord and pour out a true and heartfelt confession to
Our High Priest in the Heavenly Sanctuary,
the Capstone of the Father's temple of the faithful,
approaching through the altar of our hearts,
let us remain open to follow the urging of the Holy Spirit
in repairing the damage of our sin by following its lead
for any needed apology, restitution and penance.

Salvation is based upon a heart
living the way of Love,
married with the Spirit of Love,
strengthened by our love and yearning
for daily devotion and communion with God
and ready to shine and share that love with our brethren,
for the joy, pleasure and glory of God.

This is followed by reading Psalm 51 in unison.

[Note: The use of the terms Liturgy, Sacrament & Penance is in the sense as defined by Webster's dictionary,
not in the sense as defined by any church. Penance is also used in the biblical sense of putting on sackcloth and ashes.]

Return to Home Page

©2007, 2010 Collins Hamblen
First Posted: 11/27/07
Last Updated: 03/10/10