Canyon Park Licensing

Welcome to Washington State!

Helpful Links & Info for New Residents

*As of JULY 1, 2001 - Out of State Vehicles are NO LONGER required to have their vehicle inspected by the State Patrol prior to registering it in Washington State.


The following are some Frequently Asked Questions from new residents of the State of Washington with regards to licensing their vehicles.
How soon should I license my vehicle?

Answer:
You must license your vehicle within 30 days of becoming a Washington resident. You are considered a resident when you establish a permanent home in the state, register to vote, receive state benefits, apply for any state license or seek in-state tuition fees. Or if you have the intent to live or be located in this state for any continuous six month period.

Please, don't wait for your out-of-state plates to expire! You may receive a $330 minimum traffic fine if you are a resident and do not license your vehicle in this state.

If you are in the Military and would like Non-Resident Military Status, please inform our clerks before beginning the transaction and present your Military Identification.

Back To Top


What is required when licensing my vehicle?

Answer:
When you come in to license your vehicle(s) that you have owned for more than 90 days in another state you are required to have:
  • Your Picture Identification (All owners who wish to be registered on the new title MUST be present and have picture ID)
  • The Original Title or Registration. If a lienholder holds the title, you'll need either a faxed or photocopy of the title, unless the lienholder information is shown on your registration. In some instances the original title will need to be provided by the lender.
  • If you are licensing a Truck we require the unladen scale weight. If this is not listed on your title or registration you will need to obtain a Scale Weight Slip from a Certified Scale.
  • An Emissions Test Certificate if required.
  • Cash or Personal Check

(Important: We can only accept a check drawn from the account of the registered owner. There is an ATM MACHINE in our lobby for your convenience.)

Note: We will issue you a Washington State registration and license plates for your vehicles at the time of registration. If you don't have a lienholder, you'll be mailed a new Washington State title in approximately 3-4 weeks.

Back To Top


Boat or Utility Trailers:
When you come in to get a Washington State Registration and Title for a Trailer you will need:
  • Your Picture Identification
  • The Original Title or Registration. If a lienholder holds the title, you'll need either a faxed or photocopy of the title, unless the lienholder information is shown on your registration. In some instances the original title will need to be provided by the lender.
  • A Scale Weight Certificate from a certified scale showing the unladen weight of your trailer (if not shown on title or registration.)
  • Cash or Personal Check
(Important: We can only accept a check drawn from the account of the registered owner. There is an ATM MACHINE in our lobby for your convenience.)

Note: We will issue you a Washington State registration and a license plate for your trailer at the time of registration. If you don't have a lienholder, you'll be mailed a new Washington State title in approximately 3-4 weeks.

Back To Top


Vessels:
If you are licensing your boat, just bring:
  • Your Picture Identification
  • The Original Title or Registration. If a lienholder holds the title, you'll need either a faxed or photocopy of the title, unless the lienholder information is shown on your registration.
  • Cash or Personal Check
(Important: We can only accept a check drawn from the account of the registered owner. There is an ATM MACHINE in our lobby for your convenience.)

Note: We will issue you a Washington State registration and a license number for your vessel at the time of registration. If you don't have a lienholder, you'll be mailed a new Washington State title in approximately 3-4 weeks.

Back To Top