GAME ERRATA BOXED GAMES

Click on the game title or scroll down the page for errata.


INDEX

  • USN Deluxe
  • Pacific Battles, vol. 1
  • Emperor's First Battles
  • Over the Top, Mons, Marne

  • back to Errata Index page
  • back to Gamer Cadre homepage


    PACIFIC BATTLES ERRATA

    Singapore: All British artillery units should have a range of 1.

    The Japanese supply rule is incorrect. Try this:
    Singapore: 2.53Japanese supply sources: Any headquarters unit is a valid supply source if it can trace a line of supply of any length along a road or railroad to the ports of Singora (1707) or Patani (1910) or the road hex which exits the map at hex 1506.(the road hex on 1506 should actually be shown exiting the map)

    Turning Point Guadalcanal:The terrain chart is incorrect. Motorized units can cross river hexsides at a cost of 3 MPs. See case 2.8 for the only exception.

    General

    4.1Only attacks conducted with a least one ground unit are valid for purposes of gaining the initiative.

    12.2 Engineers and construction units that are in reserve can not construct fortifications. 12.2When fortifications are not manned by a friendly combat (non-HQ) unit at the end of a movement phase, they are removed from play.

    Bombardment: the chart is correct. There is a -1 DRM if the target units are attacking.

    Interdiction:13.3 is poorly worded. The Expanded Sequence of Play chart describes how interdiction should work.The phasing player removes all enemy air and naval interdiction markers in phase D (after he has moved).He places new interdiction markers in phase F.This correct phasing allows each player's interdiction to affect the other's movement.

    The real value of concealment markers are that they prevent the opposing player from examining the stack during interdiction and prevent the top unit of the stack from being observed.


    EMPEROR'S FIRST BATTLES

    French III and IV Corps are printed in the same shade of red. To keep the units sorted out, here are the i.d.s:

    III CORPS: Davout, 13L, 17+30, 51+61, 1/III, 33+48, 108 ,111, 2/III, 12+21, 25+85, 3/III, III CORPS, 7, 1/5, 6/2, GENS D'

    IV CORPS: Soult, 10+35, 43+55, 1 DIV, 24L, 4+28, 46+57, 2DIV, 2L, 18+75, 3DIV, MARGARON, GUYOT, 16+17, 6/1, 4/5

  • return to index


    OVER THE TOP

    [2.6] Definition of Terms: Command Range (error). Command range is in terms of "hexes", not "movement points" (see [5.11]).

    [2.6] Definition of Terms: Formation Identification (clarification). Formation Identification is determined by the colored stripe on top of the counter (for purposes of Command, deployment, etc). Unit Identification has no impact on play per se. Exceptions (such as Army level units, deployment and reinforcements, etc.) are noted in the scenarios.

    [6.5] Forts and Command (addition). Forts are always In Command. Units occupying fort hexes must establish Command normally.

    [10.1] Reinforcements (clarification). On their turn of arrival, reinforcements move during the friendly Reinforcement and Replacement Segment (i.e., after units that were already on the map have completed their Initial Movement Segment); see Sequence of Play, Reinforcement and Replacement Segment.

    [10.2] Placement of Replacements (clarification). Completely eliminated units that have been replaced enter the game on either (1) reinforcement hexes [10.21] or (2) the same hex as a friendly headquarters if that HQ can trace a line of communications [10.22]. Partially eliminated units can be restored to full strength if they are In Command and the player expends a replacement point. The unit does not have to be in the same hex as a friendly headquarters [10.23].

    [12.62] Artillery and Defense (error). Ignore the line, "If they get an Exchange result inflicted against them, the exchange is figured on artillery units having a strength of '1' each."

    [16.0] Advance & Retreat as the Result of Combat (clarification). Units which advance/retreat as a result of combat are moved one hex by the owning player.

    [17.2] Breakthrough Movement, second "point" (clarification). Any unit with a circled movement factor has "Initiative" and may use Breakthrough movement even if Out of Command.

    [20.53] Assault Combat against Forts (change). Forts have a combat strength set by the scenario, used when defending against enemy assault attacks. Results of "DE" and "DZ" inflicted on forts eliminate them. All other results have no effect. Units which attack forts take losses normally. [Note this change was implemented in the Mons/Marne set but not the Over the Top boxed game.]

    [20.54] Attacks on Forts (clarification). Units defending in forts receive the two column shift for defense. However, such units are otherwise affected by all combat results normally.

    [25.1(3)] Optional Artillery Rules (clarification). Artillery units in 1917 or later need only be "In Command" in order to fire at any hex in range. They do not need to "spot" to fire.

    [27.51] Fog of War Markers (addition). Fog of War markers may move only with units they started a phase with, including breakthrough movement. Should a stack containing a Fog of War marker split up, the Fog of War marker must move with with one of the units. Fog of War markers are not affected by suppression (although units they are stacked with would be).

    [29.4] Scenario Notes (clarification). All units are automatically considered to be In Command during initial deployment. Command is checked normally thereafter. (i.e., the First Player's units would be In Command until the beginning of the First Player's Command Segment of the first Game Turn; the Second Player's units would be In Command until the beginning of the Second Player's Command Segment of the first Game Turn).

    Terrain Effects Chart (clarification). The dark shaded hexes on the upper side of slope hexsides are treated as clear terrain.

    Terrain Effects Chart (clarification). All the numbers in the Defense Shifts columns should have a negative sign (-) in front of them.

    Terrain Effects Chart (error). Crater markers cause units to stop when they enter their hexes (not expend "all" movement points). Crater markers add a -1 shift to other terrain (not +1).

    Assault Combat Results Table (correction). Out of Command defending units provide a +1 (not -1) shift to the odds column (this error is also on the Player Aid Card).

    Artillery Barrage Table (correction). A die roll of "2" on the 13-16 column should be a result of "N".

    Artillery Barrage Table (correction). Out of Command barraging units provide a two column shift to the left. Ignore the reference to Out of Supply units.

    Marne Counter Sheet (clarification). The French 5th Army consists of the following formations: 1st Corps, 3rd Corps, 10th Corps, 18th Corps, 5th Army Reserve ("R") Corps. (This should have been indicated by the counters being tinted a different shade of blue, but since these formations are indicated in the scenario setup instructions, it does not make a difference).

    Mons Scenario

    5.1 German Victory Conditions (clarification). The "south map edge" includes all hexes from 3001 to 3622.

    Marne Scenario

    4.3 Allied Replacements (change).
    French: 2 per turn
    British: 1 each PM turn

    8.0 Special Rules 8.7 (addition). 8.7 Friction Table: If "Scenario Special Event" occurs during the German player's Friction Segment, then implement the effects of Command Breakdown for the Germans this turn (see Friction Event #25-26). (If "Scenario Special Event" occurs during the Allied player's turn, then treat it as No Event.)

    (Designer's note: These changes provide a slightly more historical recreation of the Battle of the Marne. The German loss of command represents the confusion ensuing when the German armies lost contact with von Moltke's headquarters. This event is balanced by reducing the Allied replacement rate.)

    Riga 1917 Scenario, Russian Initial Deployment 4.1 (correction). The boundary between the Russian 2nd and 6th Armies is actually the river beginning hexside 5819/5919 and going to the lake in hex 4701.

    St. Mihiel 1918 Scenario, Victory Conditions 6.0 (correction). The German "Secondary Position" is the double line of trench hexes running from 6234/6333 to 7012/7013. It does not include the "bulge" running from 6022 to 6712.

    Damascus 1918 Scenario, Ottoman Initial Deployment 4.1 (correction). 8th Army, 7th Army, 4th Army units on or one hex north of the frontline. "A" (Army level) units are placed anywhere on or behind the frontline.

    Damascus 1918 Counter sheet (correction). The two British tank battalions are both Shock units with Initiative. They should have a "+" sign after their combat factors and their movement factors should be highlighted.

    Damascus 1918 Counter sheet (correction). The German "PZ" unit should be "AK" (Asia Korps).