S&T GAME ERRATA PART 2

Click on the game title or scroll down the page for errata.


INDEX

  • War of 1812 (S&T 207)
  • Forgotten Axis: Romania (S&T 206)
  • Boer War (S&T 205)
  • Twilight of the Habsburgs (S&T 204)
  • Xenophon (S&T 203)
  • Taipei (S&T 202)
  • Crimean War Battles: Alma, Tchernaya (S&T 201)
  • French Foreign Legion (S&T 200)
  • back to Errata Index page
  • next errata page
  • back to Gamer Cadre homepage


    War of 1812 Errata and Clarifications (S&T 207) 

    [5.2] Florida Invasion Table (correction). Change ³+#: Command value of any one leader in the invasion force.² To ³+1: If a ³3² or higher leader is in the invasion force. -1: If no leader is in the invasion force.² Also, note that for this and the Militia Check Table, a ³1² or ³2² leader would provide no die roll modifier.

    [7.1] Selection of War Policy (clarification). Players pay Political Points for War Policies only during Spring turns during phase 3.1. The scenario will list the starting War Policy for each side. It remains in effect until the end of the following Winter turn. Note that since the scenario begins in Summer of 1812, there is no initial cost for the policies with which players begin. And also note that since players can change policies only in Spring turns, that the US War Policy will be War Hawk and the British will be Negotiations until the end of Winter of 1813.

    [8.31] Assembly Areas (clarification). Units already on the map are not counted against the total which may be placed under the limitations of the areaıs support value. For ex: if three units are already in a town (support value = 4), a player could still place four new units there.

     [9.1 (2)] Gaining Event Markers (correction). Event markers cost two Political Points, as stated on the Political Points chart.

    [11.0] Operations (clarification). A player   organizes a force before checking for Operations Points.   A Leader can apply his bonus only to a force of which he is part.    

     [11.1(2)] Operations (correction). Subtract -2 if it is a winter turn.

    [11.4] Operations (important clarification). A force may roll on the Operations Chart only once per turn (unless using the optional Forced March rule, in which case it may roll a second time). It may expend its Operations Points on any combination of actions (move, battle, siege, train, pillage) in that turn. For example, a force with 5 Operations Points could attack-move-attack or move-move-attack-move.

    [14.0] Movement (clarification). The following units may move: all leaders, all combat units (land and naval), all supply units.

    [15.5.5 (3)] Battle Resolution (addition). Light units gain different modifiers than other units when firing on a defender in certain terrain types. This applies to Indian units, also. See the Terrain Effects Chart Notes section.

    [21.1.3] (clarification). Enemy forces in the same area do not count against each otherıs forage capacity. A player can combine forage with supply, expending supply points only for units which can not forage.

    [29.1] Naval Units (clarification). Naval movement is only along the ocean and lake movement paths. Therefore, gunboats may not enter Blockade boxes.

    Political Points Chart (addition). Each enemy Indian unit eliminated in battle gives the player +1 Political Point. Eliminated friendly Indian units do not cause loss of Political Points.  

    Militia Check Table (example). If New England Militia is crossing from New England to the Middle States with a ³1² Leader, the cumulative die roll modifier would be -1. (Optionally, the -2 modifier for New England militia does not apply if it is moving into a USA area which currently contains British units.)

    War Policy Mobilization Limits Chart (addition). A player increases his Militia mobilization by +1 per turn in the event of an invasion. For the British, this is one more Canadian militia if Canada is invaded. For the US, this is one more militia only of an invaded region (e.g., if New England is invaded, then the US player gets one more New England militia; if New England and the South were invaded, the US would get +1 militia each, etc.). Enemy controlled Indians in an area count as an invasion.

    Map (correction). There should be a lake path running between Cleveland and Lake Erie.

    Map (clarification). The St. Lawrence River does not constitute a river movement path. (Movement is just as quick using the road running from York to Quebec so there was no point in having a redundant river path there.)

    Battle Results Table (omission). Die roll modifiers: -1: if the unit being fired upon is a Ship-of-the-Line.

    Siege Chart (omission). ³+1: if the siege force is at least 50% veteran siege trains or ships-of-the-line.²

    Turn Record Track (clarification). While the scenario begins in Summer 1812 and ends Winter 1815, the Track runs from Winter 1812 to Autumn 1815 to give gamers the opportunity to develop variants.

    Counters (clarifications).
    USA units should have their combat factors printed in black on the front side.
    Ships-of-the-Line have the dark blue band. Gunboats are the small ship icons. Frigates are the others.
    The British ships-of-the-line have a thin red line running between two blue bands.


  • FORGOTTEN AXIS: ROMANIA

    Are the 6-3-8 Naval units BKA's, River Monitors or Gunboats ?
    BKA's are 6-3-8
    Are Mech/Cav units considered armor units for Combined arms bonus ?
    7.3 Combined Arms: "Whenever friendly armor and infantry (including marine, mountain, mechanized infantry, MECHANIZED CAVALRY, and motorized infantry but not machine gun) units are ..."
    Are armored cars considered Armor ?
    No. Armor units only are considered armor
    Are all Axis air units available for the Kuban Gateway scenario ?
    Yes.
    Are all Romanian and German air units available in both scenarios? It's not listed in the scenario setup instructions.
    Rule 9.0: "The Axis player has both Romanian and German air units available in the KUBAN GATEWAY scenarios."
    Air units have no MPs. They can attack anywhere on the map.
    SS unit "LSS Motorcycle" is shown as 3-3-8 on both front and back. Is this correct?
    It should be a one-step unit [errata counter is in S&T 212]
    There appear to be only one type of beach on the map. This is rather important because rule 13.14 states that Axis units cannot land on any hex that is within 2 hexes of a Soviet Naval unit. Since there are only 3 beaches on the map the Soviet player can prevent the Axis player from making ANY amphibious landings. Is that intended?
    Invasion beaches are the two on the northwest corner. Evacuation beaches are the one strip on the south coast (near Veselovka).
    13.14 - opposed invasions. Is it the design intent to force the Axis to air bombard the covering Soviet naval units, until they're dead, before allowing an Axis amphibious invasion? I don't see any other way to clear the naval units away from the beaches. Keep trying. The Axis player can and must drive the naval units off the beaches before trying a landing.
    Do attacks across rivers and streams at fords or bridges suffer any adverse effect?
    No, though only those units actually attacking across the hexside are not halved, and most such attacks lead into a swamp.
    The Soviet 126th Tank Battalion isn't listed in the rules specifically, but I assume it's correct to include the unit in the scenario anyway. >>
    The 126th Tank Battalion sets up with the other independent units.
    There is no "air allocation chart." The Axis player should note the assignment of air units to formations on a piece of paper, keeping this out of sight of the Soviet player until the air units are used. The playtest version had a box on the map for each formation that you put the air counter in, but playtesters thought that gave the Soviet player too much advance info. While we took the boxes off the map, unfortunately the rules still refer to them.
    The VP schedule in the 2nd scenario mentions oilfields - where are they ?
    Ignore these.



  • BOER WAR 205

    2.26 Unit Types (clarification). Marine units are sometimes referred to as "Naval" units in the rules.
    4.0 Political Index (clarification). The term "Morale" is used in some places in the rules to describe the current status of a player's Political Index as High, Medium or Low.
    4.51 Changes to Political Index for Combat (clarification). If a single combat results in units on both sides having units eliminated and/or demoralized, results are applied simultaneously. Use the cumulative total of additions/subtractions.
    6.1(4) Boer Reinforcements (omission). The Boer player rolls once per turn for Foreign Volunteer units automatically.
    7.42 Placement of British Reinforcements (addition). The British player may place no more than one Cape Colony, Natal, Rhodesian, Orange Free State or Transvaal unit per hex per turn (including militia).
    7.43 Placement of British Reinforcements (change). Native units are brought in only as a result of invasions of neutral (see 26.0) or by Random Events. Placement of Native units is explained under 26.22 and in the appropriate events.
    7.45 Placement of British Reinforcements (addition). British militia units may also be placed on any cities or towns in the Cape Colony, Natal, Bechuanaland or Rhodesia which contain no Boer units (the hex may be in an enemy ZOC). For militia placement, the hex does not have to be British occupied.
    23.5 Destruction of Fortifications (clarification). If a fortification is vacated as a result of combat it is destroyed.
    28.2 Guerrillas (change). Units designated as "guerrillas" have NO zones of control.
    29.2 Duration of British Tactical Inefficiency (error). Second line should be: "On a roll of 1-4 Tactical Inefficiency remains in effect" (not 1-5 as written).
    Alternative rule 29.2: British roll for end of Tactical Inefficiency upon the completion of each attack they make beginning in November 1899 which involves at least two infantry or mounted infantry brigades, or divisional equivalents. On a die roll of "6" Tactical Inefficiency ceases; on a 1-5 it remains in effect. (Players can use this rule at their option instead of the original 29.2. It encourages the British to get out in the field and learn from their mistakes.)
    Bombardment Table (clarification). The bombarding player receives +1 for each attacking Bombardment qualified unit (not for each additional unit; e.g., the attacker has two bombardment qualified units so he gets a +2 die roll modifier).
    Random Events Table (reminder). Roll twice if morale is High or Low, once if Medium. (Yes, this is in the rule, but players were missing it.)
    Boer Political Point Changes (omission). Changes to Boer Political Index: Boers receive "0" (not "-1") Political Point loss for friendly cornetcies demoralized in combat.
    British Political Point Changes table (omission). Changes to British Political Index: British receive "0" (not "-1") Political Point loss for friendly militia demoralized in combat.
    Terrain Effects Chart (superfluity). Ignore the Attack from March line on the map. (This was from an earlier version of the rules; Attack from March was replaced with the Momentum rule, 18.251.)

    Political Points Changes Chart (commentary): There has been some questioning of the line on the Political Point Changes chart under both the Boer and British End of Turn changes, "Boers occupy other towns in Cape Colony, Natal, Bechuanaland, Rhodesia (drop fractions): +1 per hex".
    Some people asked if this should have been "-1" for the British (which throws the game heavily towards the Boers); others asked about the "drop fractions" references. This rule is correct as printed, although it was changed several times in playtest. Its original intent was that both the Boers and the British would get Political Points for each "other town" occupied by the Boers. The increase in Boer points represented boosts in their morale for capturing enemy population centers; the increase in British points represented boosts to Imperial unity caused by reaction to the growing Boer threat. However, the rule has caused no end to confusion so it's best just to drop it and replace it, as follows. (This reflects the political ramifications of invading other countries.)
    Political Point Changes table (delete). "Awarded during the Boer End of Turn Phase": Delete the line "Boers occupy other towns in Cape Colony, Natal, Bechuanaland, Rhodesia (drop fractions): +1 per hex".
    Political Point Changes table (delete). "Awarded during the British End of Turn Phase": Political Point Changes table (error). Delete the line "Boers occupy other towns in Cape Colony, Natal, Bechuanaland, Rhodesia (drop fractions): +1 per hex".  
    Replace above with the following changes to the Political Point Change Chart:  
    Awarded to the Boer player as they occur, once per game per event (addition)
    The first time any British unit enters the Transvaal: + three die roll total
    The first time any British unit enters the Orange Free State: + three die roll total
    Awarded to the British player as they occur, once per game per event (addition)
    The first time any Boer unit enters the Cape Colony: + two die roll total
    The first time any Boer unit enters Natal: + two die roll total
    The first time any Boer unit enters Bechuanaland: + one die roll
    The first time any Boer unit enters Rhodesia: + one die roll  
    Make the following modifications for the scenarios:
    Scenario 1 (October 1899): neither player has invaded any other territory.
    Scenario 2 (January 1900): Boer units have invaded Cape Colony, Natal and Bechuanaland prior to start of play and the British do not roll for them in the scenario.
    Scenario 3 (October 1899): neither player has invaded any other territory.
    Scenario 4 (November 1900, to be published): Boer units have invaded Cape Colony, Natal and Bechuanaland prior to start of play and the British do not roll for them in the scenario. British units have invaded the Transvaal and Orange Free State prior to start of play and the Boers do not roll for them in the scenario.

    Other play balance options. Players can use these to fine tune the game.

    Scenario 1, Special Rule, British First Army Corps (addition). The British receive the following units at NO Political Point cost during the Reinforcement Phase of October 1899: Buller Headquarters, 3 British Home Infantry Divisions, 1 British Home Cavalry Brigade, 1 Logistics Unit. These units are placed in the Reinforcements Transit box and will land on the map in November 1899. (These represent historical units which were slated to be sent to south Africa prior to the start of the campaign and hence do not cost the British political points).
    4.4 Political Collapse (change). A player's Political Index may never fall to below "1" (i.e., it may never Collapse). If some action calls for it to go lower, it does not move. (Note: this is mainly intended to prevent one side forcing a "sudden death" defeat on an opponent in scenarios which start out with one side having an advantage.)
    5.2 Random Events Table (change). A player rolls three times on the table if his side's Political Index is currently High or Low. He rolls twice if it is currently Average.
    Political Point Changes table (addition). Awarded during the British End of Turn Phase:
             
           Roberts HQ in a city hex: +1             
        Kitchener HQ in a city hex: +1



  • TWILIGHT OF THE HABSBURGS S&T 204

    The Terrain Chart lists cities as having no defensive effect, but the rules in 9.62 mention cities as doubling terrain; who's right?
    No defensive effect.

    The replacement units aren't marked for size. I'm treating the one-steppers as brigades, everything else as divisions, is that correct? (That's how the non-replacement units go.)
    No, even the replacement one-step units are divisions (they are hauling around the division services).

    And what hex is Venezia in anyway?
    1428



  • XENOPHON

    2.3 Playing Pieces. The Leader and Supreme Leader symbols are in each others' places. The Siege Train and Supply Train symbols are in each others' places.
    2.11, Map Clarifications (correction): Taxila is in hex 2443 (not Bucephala).
    11.1 Levies (clarification): a player may levy any type of Satrapy unit (including fleets).
    Treasury Chart (omission) Elephants cost 5 to recruit and 1 to maintain.

    11.11 Levies (clarification). The Satrapy Control Chart shows only the number (not the type) of units which may be levied per Satrapy. In Xenophon, players may levy any type of unit available from a particular Satrapy.

    Xenophon questions:

    q: If a players plays one or more agent stratagems and the opponent plays an equal number of treachery stratagems, does the phasing player still roll on the diplomacy chart on the "0" column or is it as if no diplomacy attempt was made at all?
    a: Roll on the "0" column.

    q: If a fleet with an invasion force attacks a coastal hex and takes losses requiring destruction of units and retreat of others, can the fleet be taken as a loss and the land unit(s) retreat overland ?
    a: Yes. Note this is only on a coastal hex, not all sea.

    q: Would it make a difference if the attack was made from a coastal hex rather than an all-sea hex ?
    a: No.

    q: If the Expedition stratagem is played, can the opposing player move the diplomacy attempt to the 1 column with an agent stratagem or can agents only be used against other agents ?
    a: Expedition is treated just as a stronger Agent, not otherwise different.

    q: If a satrapy becomes neutral, the rules state that units outside of the satrapy that are in a city are not removed. Are they considered neutral or still a part of the players force?
    a: They are neutral. If attacked, then this triggers belligerency for their satrapy. The idea behind this rule is that it represents conquests, so even if a satrapy becomes neutral, it retains cities it has taken.

    q: Can fleet units be part of a "force" with land units? For example, can I use a stack of land units and a fleet and march along the coast (not naval transport) to attack enemy units using the fleets combat factors?
    a: Yes.

    q: If a force attacks a enemy stack in a city and does not eliminate them, can it attack again if it has enough operations points?
    a: Yes. See 17.25

    q: Can a leader alone attempt to withdraw from combat - or is it captured when an enemy unit attempts battle.
    a: Yes.

    q: Another follow up question-about to start the big battle between Cyrus and Antarxes (personal combat resulted in a tie), my question is : Can there be more than one terrain bonus for a defender? For instance, attacker crossing a river attacking into a city.
    a: Nope--see 17.74(5), although this could have been made more clear.

    q:Are there any limitations on fleets crossing the Dardanelles straits ?
    a: No (given the game scale it's not worth an extra rule).

    New Rule:
    The Levy Value of a satrapy is reduced by "1" for a satrapy which has no enemy units within its borders. Its full value is used only when it has one or more enemy units located within its borders. For ex: Scythia would have a Levy value of 2 (as on the chart) if there were a stack of enemy units within its borders; this would be reduced to 1 if that stack were to be eliminated, move out, etc. Satrapies which are reduced to 0 Levy value may levy 1 unit on even numbered turns.
    (The idea behind this rule is to reduce what can sometimes be considerable replacements in the game; you get full Levy Value if an enemy unit is in the Satrapy as this represents local response to invasion. You can retrofit it onto Charlemagne)

    XENOPHON

    Q? If a players plays one or more agent stratagems and the opponent plays an equal number of treachery stratagems, does the phasing player still roll on the diplomacy chart on the "0" column or is it as if no diplomacy attempt was made at all?
    A. Roll on the ì0î column.

    Q? If a fleet with an invasion force attacks a coastal hex and takes losses requiring destruction of units and retreat of others, can the fleet be taken as a loss and the land unit(s) retreat overland ?
    Q. Yes. Note this is only on a coastal hex, not all sea.

    Would it make a difference if the attack was made from a coastal hex rather than an all-sea hex ?
    A, No.

    Q? If the Expedition stratagem is played, can the opposing player move the diplomacy attempt to the 1 column...
    A.Yes.

    Q? ...with an agent stratagem or can agents only be used against other agents ?
    A. Expedition is treated just as a stronger Agent, not otherwise different.



  • TAIPEI S&T 202

    4.21 and 6.11 Air Superiority Combat (correction). Total Air Superiority strength is equal to: twice the Counterair strength plus the face value of Strike and EW strength of all friendly units committed to Air Superiority. The Air Missions Chart is correct.

    When allocating Air Superiority results, apply Destroyed results first, then Damaged.

    5.11 and 5.21 (clarification): The Chinese HQ's are [1]-3-4s and [1]-2-3s.

    Charts (correction). The Airlift Costs Table lists division-sized non-mechanized twice. The second (lower-cost) listing should be for brigade-sized units.

    Map: Chi-Lung (1311) should be a city.

    Map. Airland Battle CRT (correction). The "AA" result should be AD, attacker disrupted.

    Map. Air-Ground Attack Table (correction). The "N" result is No Effect.

    Map. Disruption Recovery Table (superfluity). Ignore the Die Roll to Recover from Flown column on the Disruption Recovery Table. This is from an early rule that did not pan out.

    Design notes. The article says the PRC has enough sealift for about three divisions, but in the full invasion scenario they could lift eight divisions at once. Sealift assumes the PRC throws in lots of extra civilian shipping initially. But after first two turns [post auto-supply] the PRC will need sealift for FSPs as well as HQs, etc.

    Charts (missing). Each player should have an Information Warfare (IW) Mission Chart, which includes five boxes (similar in layout to the Air Missions Chart):  OPSEC, EW, Deception, PSYOP, Inactive. This is illustrated below.

    [ OPSEC ] [ EW ] [ Deception ] [ PSYOP ] [ Inactive ]

    The Information Warfare (IW) Index was not included with the game. It should look like this:

    INFORMATION WARFARE INDEX

    20 Coalition Dominance
    19 Coalition Dominance
    18 Coalition Dominance
    17 Coalition Dominance
    16 Coalition Dominance
    15 Coalition Dominance
    14 Coalition Dominance
    13 Coalition Dominance
    12 Coalition Dominance
    11 Coalition Dominance
    10 Coalition Dominance
    9 Coalition Dominance
    8 Coalition Dominance
    7 Coalition Dominance
    6 Neutral
    5 Neutral
    4 Neutral
    3 Neutral
    2 Neutral
    1 Neutral
    0 Neutral
    1 Neutral
    2 Neutral
    3 Neutral
    4 Neutral
    5 Neutral
    6 Communist Dominance
    7 Communist Dominance
    8 Communist Dominance
    9 Communist Dominance
    10 Communist Dominance
    11 Communist Dominance
    12 Communist Dominance
    13 Communist Dominance
    14 Communist Dominance
    15 Communist Dominance
    16 Communist Dominance
    17 Communist Dominance
    18 Communist Dominance
    19 Communist Dominance
    20 Communist Dominance


    CRIMEAN WAR BATTLES S&T 201

    Rules

    2.4 (clarification) Units in the Alma scenario have their movement allowance printed on the right side of their counters (note this is mentioned in the Alma scenario rules, [20.3]).

    7.41 Artillery Fire Strength Table (omission):
    Artillery Range in Hexes, Class J
    1 2 3 4+
    8 6 4 -

    ALMA scenario

    16.0 (clarification): The Russian parent units are "W" (West), "C" (Center) and "E" (East). There should be a slash before the "W", "C" or "E" on the units.

    British units:
    The British are missing their reinforcement units (21/4, 63/4, 45/4, 57/4, 20/4 infantry). Their strengths are all (fire-melee-morale-movement):
    Front: 4-2-4-5
    Back: 2-1-4-3  

    Russian units:
    There are two SUS/1E units. One should be SUS/2E
    All Russian artillery units should have a Fire Strength of "A" (two of the FB units are erroneously shown as "B")  

    Map:
    Hex 2112 should have no unit set up in it (there is no 2/RB unit in the game)
    Hex 3213 should have the UGL/1E unit (note this is in the scenario set up instructions)
    Hex 3013 should have the UGL/1E unit (note this is in the scenario set up instructions)  

    TCHERNAYA scenario
    The Russian CH Pol/7 unit is deployed on hex 0910 (note that while this is not printed on the map, it is printed in the scenario set up instructions).  

    VARIANT COUNTERS (on 201 counter sheet)

    Vietnam Battles (S&T 196): These units replace misprinted units in the original counter sheet.

    Crimean War (S&T 193): These units replace misprinted units in the original counter sheet. The "Army 5" markers are for use with the Army Holding Areas.

    Sun Never Sets: These units are used in the March to Peking scenario. They are added to the initial Manchu (Chinese) order of battle.

    Forgotten Finns. These are used with new scenarios appearing in S&T 204.


    FRENCH FOREIGN LEGION S&T 200

    Desert Hawks: Algeria 1840 Scenario (error): 1840 units have a yellow stripe, 1841 units have a white stripe, 1842 units have an orange stripe, and 1844 units have a green stripe (as stated in the 1830 scenario). The red stripe units are the special 1830 reinforcements (the 67th Regiment). Note that all units have the correct reinforcement group printed on the back.  

    Dahomey Scenario (error): Amazons have a blue stripe (not pink).  

    Dahomey Counter Mix (error): "L" French infantry should be "B".  

    Tonkin Scenario (error). 5.1 The French gain 1 Victory Point per Vietnamese/Chinese (not French!) unit eliminated in battle.  

    Random Events Table (omission). French event 52-55, Troop Withdrawal: add: "This event may happen only once per game."  

    Weapons types as they appear on the FFL counters and as they are on the CRT:   

    Artillery types: L = LMA, F = FMA, M = LBL, B = FBA, R = RL,   

    Machinegun types: G = EMG, A = LMG   

    Infantry/mounted infantry/camel corps types: M = ML, R = RML, B = BL, A = MBL, S = SS   

    Cavalry types: C = CV   

    Other types: N = No weapons