S&T GAME ERRATA PART 1

Click on the game title or scroll down the page for errata.


INDEX

  • Finnish Front #2 (S&T 199)
  • Lemberg/Verdun (S&T 198)
  • Great Medieval Battles (S&T 197)
  • Vietnam Battles (S&T 196)
  • Friedland/Borodino (S&T 195)
  • Finnish Front #1 (S&T 194)
  • Crimean War (S&T 193)
  • Gauntlet/Chongchon (S&T 190)
  • Charlemagne (S&T 189)
  • Kiev/Rostov (S&T 188)
  • First Arab-Israeli War (S&T 185)
  • back to Errata Index
  • next errata page
  • back to Gamer Cadre homepage


    FINNISH FRONT (FORGOTTEN AXIS) (194 and 199)

    Q: I take it that the hexside between hexes 3419/3420 on the Allakurtti map is a ford. There is no ford listed in the terrain effects chart but there are fords mentioned in the rules.
    A: +1 to cross. Combat effects per river/stream.

    Q: The combat rule states that each unit can only be attacked once per turn. Should this read once per combat phase?
    A: Once per turn.

    Q: There are extra counters in S&T 201 for this game. Are there counter missing from the original?
    A: No. There will be extra scenarios and a campaign game in a future issue of Moves or S&T.

    Q: What is the significance of the white unit type background?
    A: Light infantry.

    Q: The victory conditions state that each side gets victory points for eliminated steps. Does this include steps lost from units still on the board
    A: Yes

    Q: The combat rules state that an enemy unit may only be attacked once per turn. Should that be once per phase?
    A: Still once per turn


    LEMBERG/VERDUN S&T 198

    Lemberg Scenario (omission): Russian 9th Corps is part of 3rd Army. Also note the Russian 2/Rif Brigade should be 3/Rifle Brigade.

    Verdun Scenario (change): deploy 30 Corps headquarters as part of initial reinforcements [instead of 20]; 20 Corps HQ [instead of 30] arrives as a reinforcement on 29 February.


    GREAT MEDIEVAL BATTLES S&T 197

    Tamburlaine Combat Results Tables

    [8.3] Fire Combat Results Table

    Firing Weapon Type & Range
    Target Cavalry Infantry Infantry
    Unit Type Longbow Shortbow Crossbow
    Range 1 2 1 2 3 1-4


    Plate 2-4 2 2-4 2-3 - 2-3
    Mail 2-5 2-3 2-5 2-4 2 2-4
    Leather 2-6 2-4 2-6 2-5 2-3 2-4
    Non-Armored 2-8 2-6 2-8 2-7 2-5 2-4

    - = No effect #-#= Dice roll necessary to affect target unit (see Morale Effects Table)

    Modifiers
    The current rout level of the defending unit is subtracted from the die roll.
    Defender is charging +2
    Defender is stacked with a wagon lager +2

    [9.4] Melee Combat Results Table

    --------------Attacking unit type
    Defending unit type P Cav M Cav All Inf Elephants
    Plate Cav 2-4 2-3 2-5 2-8
    Mail Cav 2-5 2-4 2-6 2-7
    Leather Cav 2-6 2-5 2-7 2-6
    Non-Armored Cav 2-7 2-6 2-8 2-5
    Mail Inf 2-4 2-3 NA 2-4
    Leather Inf 2-6 2-5 NA 2-5
    Non-Armored Inf 2-8 2-7 2-9 2-6
    Elephants 2-3 2 2-6 NA

    NA= Not Applicapable
    ##= Dice roll necessary to affect target unit (see Morale Effects Table)

    Modifiers
    The current rout level of the defending unit is subtracted from the die roll.
    Attacker is double-counter unit attacking through front left, front right, or flank hex +2
    Attacker is charging without lance -2
    Attacker is charging with lance -4
    Attacker is stacked with Tamburlaine -1
    Attacker is rampant elephant -3
    Defender is stacked with wagon lager +2


    VIETNAM BATTLES S&T 196

    [4] Sequence of Play (omission). The Friendly Recovery Phase occurs as step (c) in the Player Turn, after the Combat Phase.

    [2.31] How to Read Units (error). The artillery unit example erroneously shows an armored unit. Artillery units have barrage, final protective fire and range allowances the same as the helicopter example.

    [8.73] How to Retreat (superfluity) ignore "...displacing every friendly unit whose hex it moves into or through (see below)." There is no displacement in the game.

    [19.40] Scenarios (clarification). The Victory Points given to the Communists for Allied Contingency Reinforcement Groups under [19.43] are per group, not per unit. Communist Contingency Reinforcements received under [19.53} are per unit. The Victory Points given to the Allies for Communist Contingency Reinforcements under 20.53 are per group, not per unit.

    Map, Assault and Mobile CRTs (correction). The "6-7" column should be "6-8".

    Map, CRT explanations (correction). A Br retreat is treated like a normal retreat result, i.e., a unit is disrupted for retreating through an enemy ZOC, not eliminated unless already disrupted.

    Map (clarification). The red stars and yellow stars are both Objective Hexes.

    Map (omission). The Turn Record Track for the Hue game is missing the February 1 turn [sneaky Viet Cong sappers made away with it...].

    COUNTER SHEET CORRECTIONS:

    Hue Scenario:
    NVA T-T-H Heavy Weapons reverse should be 1-1-8/1-3
    NVA T-T-H AA reverse should be 1-2-3/1-2
    US 1/1M Infantry reverse should be 1-2-3
    US 1/5M Infantry reverse should be 1-2-3
    US 2/501 Airborne reverse should be 1-2-3
    US 3/5M Infantry reverse should be 1-2-3
    US A/1M Armor reverse should be 2-1-5
    US PBR reverse should be 1-1-2/1-15

    Khe Sanh Scenario
    NVA 325 antiaircraft battalion reverse should be 0-2-2
    NVA 367A artillery battalion with the 2-1-15 factors is actually the "24" battalion (part of the 304 Division setup [20.51](1)(a)).

    Several units have the wrong size symbols printed on them. This does not affect the play of the game.

    Thanks to Noel Wright for providing a list of corrected unit values.

    Vietnam Battles (S&T 196) questions ...

    [2.31] It takes the eyes of an eagle to tell the difference between Transport and Gunship helicopter units. In Hue, the only Gunship is C/2 20; in Pegasus it is A, B & C/2 20, correct?

    Answer: YES--note that the gunships are 3-2-3s or 3-2-2s; also note that the recon/air cav helicopters have a movement of 36.

    [5.3] The game never specifies which units are mechanized for movement purposes - I assume Logistics, Tank, Mechanized Infantry, Armored Cavalry, and Self-Propelled Artillery?

    Answer: YES--any unit with an "oval" symbol.

    [16.0] "Morale Points" markers should presumably be read as "Initiative Points" and "Morale Track" should be "Initiative Track".

    Answer: YES

    [16.0, 19.3, 20.3] "Morale Track" only goes up to 10 - can Initiative Points be accumulated in excess of 10?

    Answer: NO

    [CRT] "Assult" [very very sic] CRT?!

    [CRT] "+1 if attacker expends one Morale Point; -1 if defender spends one Moral [sic] point" - should be Initiative Points.

    Answer: YES

    [CRT} No explanation is given of the combat result "Ddx" - I assume it is analogous to "Aax"?

    Answer: YES--Dd means the defender is disrupted before retreating "x" number of hexes.

    And for what it is worth, the "Overrun" combat result just seems wrong. 'A' Overruns 'B' - 'B' retreats one hex and 'A' loses strength? Is this simply a matter of terminology, that it shouldn't be called Overrun, or was the intent that in an Overrun, the defender is retreated one hex, and the DEFENDER loses SP equal to the attacker strength?

    Answer: The result is CORRECT as stated. "Overrun" refers to a common tactical situation in Vietnam where the attacker took a lot of losses to seize a position, but the defender withdrew intact.

    [Hue Exclusive Rules] May Allied units fire FPF during the first Communist turn? Historically they didn't.

    Answer: Technically YES, but this is a good point. As an optional first turn surprise rule, the Allies can not fire FPF on the first Communist player turn.

    [Hue Exclusive Rules, Bridge Destruction p. R12] I assume that a unit on a bridge dies when the bridge underneath it is destroyed?

    Answer: YES.

    Operation Pegasus 325C division - there is no 325C Heavy Weapons Bn - should this be 325? OK 29th NVA regt - there is no 324B Heavy Weapons Bn - should this be 325B? OK

    (Change): OPERATION PEGASUS RANDOM EVENTS TABLE: Event #31 should actually be as follows:
    "Unidentified aircraft illuminates Khe Sanh Firebase. All Communist attacks made against Khe Sanh Firebase receive an additional +1 die roll modifier this turn."
    This event references a rather peculiar incident where an unidentified aircraft fired flares over the base. John Prados mentions this incident in his book on Khe Sanh. There is speculation as to whether this was a North Vietnamese aircraft slipping across the DMZ on a recon mission, or a classified flight ordered by the White House to ensure that the US command in Vietnam was providing accurate information about the defense of the firebase. Somewhere along the line it got changed.


    BORODINO/FRIEDLAND S&T 195

    [2.4] How to Read the Units. Commander units in the counter mix use the same flag symbol as do officers, but can be distinguished by the bracketed number in their lower left corner.

    Borodino Scenario Special Rule 6D, Russian Artillery Reserve. Russian Artillery Reserve units are listed on page R16, upper left.

    Map. Players should photocopy the Casualty Record Tracks and Destroyed Units Compartments from the Friedland map and use them also for the Borodino game.

    Jack Werth was kind enough to send this errata for Borodino and Friedland:

    BORODINO:

    1. The DEMORALIZATION CHARTS were left out of the game. They can be made by using the pattern from the Friedland Charts and adding the Corps demoralization information for the Borodino Game. The information needed is provided under 15.7 on R12. Jim Werbaneth has been kind enough to post these on Line of Departure@The GamersNet for a free download.

    2. The picture of the RUSSIAN ARTILLERY RESERVE UNITS was not provided on R15 under section D. The six units involved are listed on R16 under the Russian Set Up Information - "Artillery Reserve [3605 @1]". These are the very last units listed for the Russians.

    3. In the SHEVARDINO SCENARIO [16.1] the French officers for the I & II Cav (Nansouty and Montbrun) should have been included in the French Set Up.

    4. Wherever a road crosses a creek/stream treat movement as if there were a bridge.

    FRIEDLAND:

    1. 19.92 - Galitzin's Cav [LC] operates in the South

    2. Counters - Russian AG Corps - SG1 "Mar" should be INFANTRY not Cav.

    3. Map - Russian Set Up Information - "C" Corps is the COSSACK CORPS.

    4. Map - Where a road crosses a stream treat movement as if there were a bridge.

    5. Map - Clarification of French Set Up Hexes. The French units on the second line set up in the two hexrows listed (i.e. 2049,2148,2248,2347,2447,2546 and 2545,2446,2346, 2247,2147,2048,1948).

    6. 19.10 - change the word "unit" to "units".


    CRIMEAN WAR S&T 193

    [5.2] Command Control (clarification). A player may utilize a Leader to modify the Command Control die roll only if the Leader is on the hexagon portion of the map. If a player has no Leader on the map, he still rolls on the Command Control Table, using a die roll modifier of "0".

    [5.2] Command Control (clarification). Note that the Russian player will have "0" Command Control points during the first Allied player turn of the game.

    [5.4 (8)] Uses of Command Control Points (clarification). A player does not have to move his units; units which can not reach the designated objectives may move normally by expending additional Command Points.

    [6.51] Placement of Reinforcements (clarification). Allied reinforcement units do not require Fleets to move onto the map. They are placed as per the instructions in rules 6.51 (1), (2) and (3).

    [7.0] Reorganization (contradiction). Rule 7.61 says Divisions can not be broken down to extract losses; rule 12.112 it says that divisions may be broken down to extract losses. Rule 7.61 is correct. Units may not be broken down during combat.

    [10.33] Secondary Zones of Control (correction). Should read: "An enemy Secondary Zone of Control is negated if there is at least one friendly combat unit adjacent to the unit exerting the Secondary Zone of Control."

    [10.33] Secondary Zones of Control (clarification). The negation of an enemy Zone of Control occurs only if there is at least one friendly combat unit exclusive of those moving into or out of the EZOC adjacent to that enemy unit.

    [10.63] Infiltration (clarification). Note that a unit which moves from a Primary to a Secondary Enemy Zone of Control and vice versa must pay the infiltration cost.

    [12.121 (2)] Advance after Combat (clarification). A force containing cavalry (plus leaders) and infantry can advance as follows: all cavalry (plus leaders) move up to two hexes, all infantry move up to one hex. All cavalry (plus leaders) must end their advance in the same hex; all infantry must end their advance in the same hex. The cavalry (plus leaders) do not have to end their advance in the same hex as the infantry.

    [12.3] Synchronized Attack (clarification). A player can combine a synchronized attack with an enhanced attack, at a total cost of 3 Command Points (1 for initiating the attack, 1 for the synchronized attack, 1 for the attack enhancement).

    [22.51] Naval Combat (clarification). A player must expend 1 additional Command Point to allow a Fleet to add its combat strength points to a combat if it is an adjacent hex (see [12.3]).

    [24.23] Supply (correction). The player does not have to expend supply points to conduct Forced March or any other type of movement (remember, you expend Command Control points to move).

    [27.3] Russian Deployment (historical note). A Russian player who wants to recreate the initial situation in the Crimea should chose Reasonable Effort for initial deployment.

    Allied Events Table, event #66 Plungers Take Charge (omission). Allies gain 2 (not "s") Victory Points if they make the required attack.

    Charts (clarification). The explanation for the Combat Results Tables (modifiers and combat results) are on page R15 of the rules.

    Map (omission). The Sequence of Play is missing the Command Control Phase. It should be between the Events and Reinforcement Phases in each player's turn.

    Counter Manifest. There are no VP markers. Players should use blank markers or unused counters of the appropriate color.

  • return to index


    GAUNTLET/CHONGCHON S&T 190

    Sample counters (error): the number on the upper left of the sample headquarters is the Support Factor; the number on the upper left of the artillery unit is the Barrage Factor.

    Scenarios: the TF 95 Naval unit is placed on any all sea hex at the start of all scenarios.

    Combat Results Table (error).
    The "DE" result is supposed to be "DZ" (Defender Annihilated)
    The "EX" result is supposed to be "BB" (Bloodbath)

  • return to index


    CHARLEMAGNE S&T 189

    19.0 Naval Operations (addition). When determining the number of Operations Points a Fleet will have, ignore the Operations Value of transported units; use the Fleet Operations Value (24). This is an exception to 13.2a.

    23.6 Burg Markers (addition). Burg markers that are built on coastal hexes are also considered to be ports.

    Charlemagne Scenario Sequence of Play (omission). The Empire player is the First Player; the Tribal player is the Second Player.

    Optional Additional Stratagem Marker: Death of Leader. Players add the blank counter (from the sheet) to the Stratagem Marker mix. Whenever a player picks this counter, they must eliminate one of their own Leaders (they can select which one, returning the market to the Stratagem pool). Exception: Charlemagne is never affected by this marker. If a player has no Leaders, then treat this as No Effect.

  • return to index


    KIEV/ROSTOV S&T 188

    The counter sheets do not show to which of the two games the counters belong. They are as follows.

    Kiev:
    All Soviet infantry/mountain infantry with a movement of 6 or 10 (10 = motorized infantry)
    Soviet cavalry divisions: 37, 55, 28, 47, 52, 14, 2, 34, 128,137
    All Soviet tank (blank) with a movement of 10.
    Soviet HQs: AGSW, 5, 17, 21, 26, 37, 38
    All German infantry with a movement of 7
    All German light infantry with a movement of 8
    German 4-4-5 cavalry division
    German mech units with following set up codes: 6D, 9B, 2007, 2105, 1A, 2B, 2105, 9E, 1807, 2202, 7E, 1807
    All German HQ units

    ROSTOV:
    All Soviet infantry/mountain infantry with a movement of 8 (the 219 division is motorized)
    Soviet cavalry divisions: 58,14,35,26,30,66,34,62,64,70,68,98,49,3,28,38,56
    All Soviet tank (blank) with a movement of 8.
    Soviet HQs with the commander's name on the right side
    All German infantry with a movement of 8
    All German light infantry with a movement of 9
    German mech units with following set up codes: 1508, 1909, 1609, 0706, 1708, 1606, 1709
    All Axis Allied units
    All supply

  • return to index


    FIRST ARAB-ISRAELI WAR S&T 185

    [12.4b] Post Overrun (addition). Also, if the attacking force receives a NE result, it must cease movement for the turn (and may conduct no more overruns).
    [14.0] Logistics (clarification). The number of supply units in the game is a limit. Players may not create additional supply units.
    ISRAELI REINFORCEMENTS 1 (change). The Israeli player may place up to four (not three) battalions per hex in Tel Aviv, Haifa New City, Jerusalem New City.
    Combat Results Table. AA is "attacker disrupted" (same as AD). There are no AR results on the CRT (should have been deleted from explanations).

  • return to index