The Huguenot Cross

Today is

Huguenot Cross

     The Huguenot's chose to be identified by the Maltese Cross rather than the Roman Cross

The Maltese Cross has 4 arms of equal length, but each arm becomes progressively broader as it leaves the center.  The outer edge of each arm is indented in the shape of a "V".  There are 2 points at the end of each arm, 8 in all, representing the Beatitudes (Matthew 5:3-10).  Between the arms of the cross are 4 Lilies, the symbol of purity.  The 4 open spaces between the arms form 4 Hearts, the symbol of Loyalty.  The appendage is a Dove, the symbol of the Holy Spirit.


white ball See also Huguenots (

white ball Also visit the Huguenot Web Ring

white ball Huguenot Society of South Africa

white ballReturn to Home Page.