1830 Rules Clarifications from the Avalon Hill General, Vol. 23, no. 6 (1987), page 46:


4.0  May a player buy and sell the same share, or different shares of the same railroad, during a single player turn of a Stock Round?
A. Yes.

10.0  If a railroad stock is valued in the Brown Zone and has shares for sale in both the Bank Pool and Initial Offering, can all of the shares in both places be bought simultaneously?
A. No.  Stock may be purchased from the Bank Pool or Initial Offering, but not from both in the same player turn of a Stock Round.  The special buying rules for stock in the Brown Zone only apply to those shares available in the Bank Pool, not those remaining in the Initial Offering.  Those shares may still only be bought one at a time.

10.0  If two different corporations have stock available for sale in the Bank Pool and both are valued in the Brown Zone, can one player buy up all the available stock for both?
A. No, you may buy stock in only one corporation per player turn.

19.0  Does the first sentence of the second paragraph mean that each railroad begins its first turn of operations by immediately playing a token on its base hex, thereby establishing a railroad and allowing track construction that turn?
A. Yes, precisely.

19.0  Does the token placed as a special feature of the D&H Private Company count as a corporation's one token placement that turn?
A.  Yes, but remember that a railroad can still place a token on its base hexagon for free in its first turn of operation.

20.2  If all the Diesels have been purchased and no 5 or 6 trains are available from the Bank, should the bank be assumed to have an unlimited number of Diesels?
A. No.  In this unlikely event, a corporation without a train cannot buy one from the Bank, so it will just not make any more money and its stock will continue to fall in value unless it can buy a train from another corporation.

20.2  If a railroad has no trains and no trains remain for sale in the Bank (all "5", "6" and Diesel trains are already owned), is the railroad really doomed to fall in value because it may not pay dividends?
A. Yes.

21.0  If a railroad has no trains but has the cash to buy one from the bank, may it instead purchase a train from another corporation (and perhaps even pay more than the bank's train would cost)?
A. Yes (yes).

21.0  May the president of a corporation sell a train to another corporation he is also president of, and then have the second railroad operate the train during the current Operating Round?
A.  No.  Trains are not sold, they are bought.  There is a distinction.  Any transfer of trains takes place during the purchaser's turn.  The purchase of trains occurs in Step 5 of the operating sequence, after Step 3 when a railroad runs its trains.  Therefore trains cannot be operated during the same Round they are acquired.  If that were not so, all eight railroads could operate using the same single train.

23.1  Does the sale of a private company between two players count as a transaction for the purpose of placing the Priority Deal Card?
A.  No.  The Priority Deal Card pertains only to transactions passing through the Bank, not the transfers of private companies between players.  Note however that all sales and purchases of stock take place between a player and the Bank.

24.0  When selling stock to assist a corporation in purchasing a train, must the shares be sold as a block or can they be sold one at a time, receiving the next lower share value each time?
A. Either way is proper, but the second procedure seems reasonable if you are trying to go Bankrupt.

24.0 When a railroad has no trains but does have the cash to buy one from the bank, may the president add some of his personal funds to buy a train instead from another corporation?
A. No. The President's cash may only be used to raise necessary funds when buying a train from the bank.

Table 1  When exercising the D&H's special feature on behalf of either the NYC or the Erie (both of which must lay a tile on their base hexagon to establish their base station), may the player lay a city tile and a station using the D&H special feature as their first tile placement?  If so, does the station established in the D&H hexagon count as the first free token which the railroad would normally have laid on its base station?
A.  Yes.  No the token placed on the D&H is free, but another token must also be placed (free) on the NYC or Erie base hex, even if no tile is there.  The first player to thereafter lay a tile on these base hexagons can orient the tile and token as they wish, since the NYC or Erie owner has passed the opportunity.


An opinon on how to understand the clarifications regarding train purchases
It is important to note that the second question above pertaining to rule 24.0 does not truly contradict point #2 under rule 24.0 in the rule book.  In Rule 24.0 is the sentence: "However, when adding in his own cash the president may not pay more than face value if buying a train from another Corporation."  AH's answer to the second rule 24.0 question is clearly in regard to a situation in which the company has enough cash to buy a train from the Bank.  No, the president cannot use his cash in that case.  Unfortunately, the explanation that follows the word "No" is not well worded and should have been left off.  But I believe the intent was to say that "When buying a train from the bank, the President's cash may only be used to raise necessary funds [because the corporation doesn't have enough.]"  Note that I have taken the last phrase of the answer and placed it first.  The bracketed section is my own added explanation. 

Now suppose that the corporation does not have enough of its own money to buy the cheapest train from the bank, or perhaps the bank may not even have any trains left.  In either case, the only option for the President to acquire a train will be to raise sufficient cash to buy one from the bank or from another corporation, which is indeed allowed by the rules.  However, if the seller from another corporation wants more than the face value of the train, the President's cash cannot be used in such a transaction, although the Corporation's own cash could be used, if sufficient.  So it is possible that a President could have sufficient personal cash (or sellable shares to attain sufficient cash) to buy a train offered for sale by the President of another corporation, but cannot buy that train because it's purchase price is greater than face value, negating the President's ability to use his own cash.  If the bank had no trains, and the only potential seller's price was too high for the President to be permitted to make a train purchase, we could see a player unable to buy a train but not yet personally bankrupt (because he in fact still has assets other than shares he cannot sell).  This would leave that President operating a corporation without a train, per the answers to questions regarding rule 20.2 above.  In fact, it appears that the President would not even have had to sell off any of his shares if there is no available train to legally purchase.

Interesting....

--Lou Jerkich


Return to Lou's Game Corner: Railroad Game Links     Return to Lou's Game Corner    Return to Lou's 1830 game page 
This page first posted on 6 December 2008. 
If you have a game interest or question, you can leave a message by writing to "gamecorner".  I use earthlink.net.