The Language of Cub Scouting

Cub Scouting has a language all its own. If you are not familiar with it, below are definitions of many terms you will encounter as you get more and more involved in the program.


To earn the rank badge, Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts must complete Achievements found in their Handbook. The achievements cover these areas: God, Country, Family and Self.
Activity Badge, Webelos:  (ended)
There are 20 Activity Badges a Webelos Scout can earn. These are divided into 5 areas: Physical, Mental, Technology, Outdoor, and Community. A pin is presented for completion of each Activity Badge.
Akela:  Your leader at home or in the Den, can sign your handbook.

Arrow of Light

Arrow of Light is the highest award a boy can earn in Cub Scouting - also the ONLY Cub Rank award from Cub Scouts which can be worn on a Boy Scout Uniform. The religious award if earned as Cub can also be worn on a Boy Scout Uniform.
Arrow Points     (ended)
Arrow Points are awarded to Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts for completion of electives AFTER the Achievements  earned for the, Wolf or Bear rank badge. A Gold Arrow Point is awarded for the first 10 electives; a Silver Arrow Point is awarded for each successive 10 electives completed. Tigers receive a Yellow bead for each 10 electives completed.
Bear Cub
These are generally third grade Cub Scouts, who work on activities in the areas God, Country, Family and Self.
Bobcat Rank
Every boy who joins Cub Scouts must first earn the Bobcat badge. Doing this, he learns the seven basic tenets of Cub Scouting: the Promise, Scout the Law , the sign, the handshake, the motto, the salute, and what Webelos means.
Boy Scout
A Boy Scout is between the ages of ~10 to 17 and belongs to a Troop. He advances through these ranks: Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, then Eagle.  Awards are give at a Court of Honor.
Boy Scouts of America
The Boy Scouts of America is a nationally chartered organization that encompasses Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Explorer Units, and Varsity Units.
This is the group of adult volunteers who "run" the Pack. Any interested adult is welcome to attend Committee meetings.
The Council is an organization of professional Scouters that oversees all Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops and other units in an area.  San Gabriel Valley Council now call GLAAC
The Cubmaster is the chief adult volunteer leader. The Cubmaster runs the Pack meetings, and advises all other leaders.
The Den is a group of Cub Scouts who meet at regular intervals. A den consists of 4 to 10 boys who are all working toward the same rank.
Tiger, Bear, Webelos 1 and Webelos 2
Den Chief
An experienced Boy Scout assigned to work with a den.  Den Chiefs received special training for this position.
Den Leader
The adult volunteer who is in charge of planning and running den meetings is the Den Leader.
Den Meeting
Individual Den Meetings are held for each rank level of Cub Scouts. These usually occur at a regular intervals, such as weekly. Wolf and Bear dens work on their achievements, fun projects, crafts or skits. Webelos dens use this time to work on the various Activity Badges.
Each Council is divided into a number of Districts. District Executive, is a paid position and oversees the activities of all Units in the District.    Pack 373 is in the   San Gabriel Valley (was Lucky Baldwin)  District of the GLAAC (wasSGVC.)
Each level of Scouting has its own Handbook. The Handbook is ESSENTIAL for your Scout, as it spells out the requirements for advancement, as well as providing a place to record completion of the same.
The whole group - all of the dens and families together is called a Pack. The Pack usually meets about once every month during the School year.

Pack Meeting: whole group - all of the dens, parents and families together for Awards and a Theme.

Rank Badges The Rank Badges, in order, are: Bobcat, Wolf, Bear, Webelos and AOL.

Tiger Cub

The Tiger Cub program is for first-grade (or age 6 or 7) boys and their adult partners. The Tiger Cub, working with his adult partner, completes equirements within these areas to earn the Tiger Cub badge. These requirements consist of an exciting series of indoor and outdoor activities just right for a boy in the first grade.
Tiger Partner
The adult partner of a Tiger Cub, usually a family member, is the Tiger Partner and come with the Tiger to meetings.
The Uniform is the prescribed clothing for any and all official Cub Scout events.  For "casual" events, a Cub or Webelos Scout T-shirt and shorts is acceptable.
Webelos Webelos means WE'll BELOyal Scouts.
Webelos Scout
These are fourth and fifth grade Cub Scouts, The activities are designed to prepare the boys for the merit badge methodology utilized in Boy Scouts.
Wolf Cub
These are generally second grade Cub Scouts, who work on 12 Achievements, mostly in the home setting. Arrow Points are awarded for work done on a multitude of electives.
Each individually chartered Pack, Troop, Post or Crew, Team or Lodge is called a Unit.